Iron Cast (Destiny Soria)

In the interest of being totally aboveboard here, I received a free digital review copy of Iron Cast from the publisher in exchange for a review. Don’t worry, I’ll still give 100% honest opinions of it.

9781419721922
This awesome cover courtesy Abrams Books.

I was extremely excited to read this book for a number of reasons. 1) It was the first ARC (advanced reader copy, for those who don’t know already) I was ever approved for. 2) The cover looked interesting. Because as many of you may know, yes, sometimes I DO judge books (at least a little) by their covers. 3) The blurb sounded very interesting. And 4) It was described as a book perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners.

Some of you may recall I have mentioned that particular series before as one I thoroughly enjoyed. Iron Cast surprised me. I really think it surpassed The Diviners. Long story short- it’s completely spectacular.

Before the story itself even begins, Destiny Soria says that she wanted to write a book where the female characters were real and complex. I think she succeeded brilliantly.

Set in Boston in 1919, with Prohibition looming on the horizon, Corrine and Ada are both hemopaths- they suffer an “affliction” that makes it possible for them to control peoples’ minds with art. They work for gangster Johnny Dervish in his club, The Cast Iron. After breaking Ada out of the notorious hemopath asylum, Haversham, both girls think they will be returning to the safety of their home at The Cast Iron. But, when several employees are shot and Johnny disappears, they will have to fight to find the truth behind everything that’s happened and make their lives safe once more.

This book was wonderful, engaging and with a richly built world. It was impossible for me not to love it. The friendship between Corinne and Ada was one I think all women can aspire to. The love between them as friends is what makes the entire story possible. I always find it refreshing to read a young adult novel where the romantic element is not the most important part of the entire plot. While there were romantic relationships in the book, they were far from the most significant.

All of the characters you meet are multifaceted and seem very real. Very few of them are exactly as they seem when you first meet them. I love it when I book keeps me guessing, and this certainly did. I found myself more that once nervous about whether or not Ada and Corrine could trust those around them. Anytime a book can draw me into the story so much that I’m feeling anxiety for them, I’d say it was quite well written.

I could not wait to finish the book and was sad when it ended. When I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about reading it. Iron Cast will be released in just a few days on October 11. I have pre-ordered my copy and my fingers are absolutely itching to get my hands on it.  I cannot recommend Iron Cast enough and I absolutely cannot wait to read more from this author!